Why I’m a Feminist

I am a feminist because dress codes suggest women’s bodies are shameful and should be covered.

I am a feminist because children should not be told what colour or kind of toys to play with.

I am a feminist because people should be able to dress however they want, regardless of gender.

I am a feminist because every picture in the media of a woman is manipulated, and gives unrealistic standards to girls.

I am a feminist because all the worst insults i.e. ‘pussy’ or ‘cunt’ are female words.

I am a feminist because girls are told that losing their virginity is supposed to hurt and be bloody – when that’s scientifically incorrect.

I am a feminist because men and children get raped too, but never asked what they were wearing.

I am a feminist because there is still unequal pay in jobs.

I am a feminist because there are still laws preventing women from showing their bodies.

I am a feminist because if a woman enjoys sex she is a ‘slut’ or a ‘whore’, but if a man does it he is a ‘lad’.

I am a feminist because people still believe bisexuality, asexuality and being transgender don’t exist.

I am a feminist because women had to give their lives before we were allowed to vote.

I am a feminist because people still believe women should be the stay-at-home parent.

I am a feminist because catcalling and street harrassment are not compliments.

I am a feminist because in the UK over 230 women are raped each day.

I am a feminist because only one in every hundred rape accusations leads to a conviction.

I am a feminist because some people think you cannot be raped by your partner.

I am a feminist because women’s bodies are used to sell everything.

I am a feminist because it is considered ‘wrong’ to breastfeed in public.

I am a feminist because unshaven women shock and terrify people.

I am a feminist because if a man takes charge he is being ‘masculine’ but if a woman does she is being ‘bossy’.

I am a feminist because boys are shamed for being openly emotional.

I am a feminist because women are considered weak despite the fact they push people out of their vagina.

I am a feminist because only 5% of mainstream 2013 films starred a woman of colour.

I am a feminist because women should not be married without consent.

I am a feminist because women should not be afraid to walk down the street on their own.

I am a feminist because in Saudi Arabia women aren’t allowed to drive.

I am a feminist because the reality is people would take this post more seriously if it was coming from a man.

I am a feminist because it is still considered a dirty word.

I am a feminist because I believe in gender equality.

Riot ❤
Lorelei

2 comments

Leave a Reply

